2019 Opera Championship

As seen on Broadwayworld.com, ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, and Operawire.com

The 2019
International Collegiate Singing ChampionshipTM 
brought to you by American Vocal Arts.

Applications are currently closed for 2019. Please check back next year for the 2020 competition

Finalists have been announced! Scroll down for more information on the finalists!
(Also, see the announcement on BroadwayWorld.com!)

ICSC emphasizes competitive collegiate singing that spans across borders. We are seeking to award the best singers from around the world who are currently enrolled in or a recent graduated of an undergraduate or graduate program in voice. There will be a First, Second, and Third Place prize awarded. The winners will be selected based on talent, potential, and overall presentation. All voice types will be judged equally. All performances and adjudication will be done via a simple online process.

2019 International Collegiate Singing Championship Finalists

Congratulations to the following performers for being selected as finalists for the International Collegiate Singing Championship (listed by first-name alphabetical order)! Winners will be announced in early 2019. 
Everyone is voting for an AUDIENCE FAVORITE! Please follow the proper donation(1)
button at the bottom of the page (instructions provided).

Achilles Leonidas Bezanis, Tenor
School: Eastman School of Music
Teacher: Robert Swensen
From: Illinois, USA

Anna Montgomery, Soprano
School: Michigan State University
Teacher: Melanie Helton
From: Colorado, USA

Carolina López Moreno, Soprano
School: Manhattan School of Music
Teacher: Edith Bers
From: Germany

Emily Helenbrook, Soprano
School: Rice University
Teacher: Stephen King
From: New York, USA

Grace Canfield, Soprano
School: The Juilliard School
Teacher: Julia Faulkner
From: Illinois, USA

Eleni Antonia Taluzek, Mezzo-soprano
School: Indiana University
Teacher: Timothy Noble
From: Illinois, USA

Ira Stecher, Tenor
School: Kansas City Conservatory
Teacher: Raymond Feener
From: Florida, USA

Johnathan McCullough, Baritone
School: Curtis Institute of Music
From: Pennsylvania, USA

Karis Tucker, Mezzo-soprano
School: University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music
Teacher: Amy Johnson
From: Ohio, USA

Laura Romero Arias, Soprano
School: Florida Atlantic University
Teacher: Patricia Fleitas
From: Colombia/USA

Laura Sanders, Soprano
School: Eastman School of Music
Teacher: Katherine Ciesinski
From: California, USA

Matthew Soibelman, Bass
School: California State University – Northridge
Teacher: David Sannerud
From: California, USA

May Claire La Plante, Soprano
School: University of Oxford
Teacher: Katharin Rundus
From: California, USA

Meagan Rao, Coloratura Soprano
School: San Francisco Conservatory
Teacher: César Ulloa
From: India/USA

Meghan Kasanders, Soprano
School: The Juilliard School
Teacher: Edith Wiens
From: Illinois, USA

Tiana Sorenson, Soprano
School: Northwestern University
Teacher: W. Stephen Smith
From: Wisconsin, USA

Tzytle Steinman, Mezzo-soprano
School: Northwestern University      
Teacher: W. Stephen Smith
From: California, USA

Voting ends on January 22, 2019 at 12:00 AM Eastern


Audience Favorite Final Results

1. Laura Sanders - 🌟 Winner 
2. Anna Montgomery
3. Eleni Antonia Taluzek
4. Meagan Rao
5. Grace Canfield
6. Emily Helenbrook
7. Matthew Soibelman
8. Ira Stecher
9. Tiana Sorenson
10. Karis Tucker

Sarah Hutchings Professor

(1) Disclosure. All donations are non-tax deductible and will be applied to help support the programs offered by American Vocal Arts. Voting is unlimited. 1 vote requires a 1 dollar donation. Non-refundable. Deadline for voting is January 22, 2019 at 12:00 AM Eastern. Please check back to this page for future updates.